Number Our Days

So teach us to number our days, that we may present to You a heart of wisdom. Psalm 90:12

Wally World

Leave a comment

Attention Wal-Mart shoppers…

IMG_8081

 

Yes, what you are looking at is a Wal-Mart sign in our city! In fact, it’s directly across the street from our apartment. I can see the huge blue sign from my bedroom window!

Last week was the grand opening. Andy took the boys out to have a look the same night they opened. What they later described to me sounded like absolute bedlam, but they were smiling big having come home with Reese’s peanut butter cups and a Hershey’s chocolate bar! Such precious treats for us here!

A few days later, the boys took me over. I had been avoiding the whole scene because of the chaos that I knew was bound to come with it. We went during the day when the crowd was minimal, and the boys had a lot of fun pointing out their favorite things to me.

This is huge step toward familiarity for us. The basics are the same: wide aisles, specials, a large number of brands at cheaper prices than other places, and, essentially one-stop shopping. However, when it comes to actual items that you want to purchase, I would say less than half of what they offer am I really interested in buying. Their items are catered to Asian cultures, so instead of having a huge craft section like you would find at a typical Wal-Mart in the US, there are rows of all different kinds of rice in huge bags or Chinese tea sets or woks… Nonetheless, we were happy to find some great cereal and aluminum foil and apple juice to take home with us. I’m pretty excited!!

Leave a comment