Number Our Days

So teach us to number our days, that we may present to You a heart of wisdom. Psalm 90:12

Committed

Leave a comment

This week I committed to running a half-marathon.

There, it’s public. That seals the deal.

Here’s the scoop. About six weeks ago I decided to take my regular running routine up a notch. Pretty small stuff, really, like going from running two times a week to three and making the third day a “long” run. The weather here is gorgeous right now – the rainy summer weather has passed the chili, clear mornings make me smile! I’d been doing this new routine for about a month when a friend ( a recent college grad, about 13 years younger than me!) asked if I would consider doing a half-marathon with her in December. That’s 13.1 miles! Yikes!

And so the considering began…

Every reason I could come up with NOT to do it was exactly why I wanted to do it – I am 35, it’s going to be hard, I’ll probably get hurt, I will want to quit, it’s going to take sacrifice and discipline and looking past instant gratification…SO many reasons why I should do this really BIG thing!

So, for those of you reading this, feel free to leave a comment or email me directly – all encouraging words are welcome!!

 

Leave a comment